Mental health-depression-bipolar

DEPRESSION: I Met Someone With BiPolar

One of the reasons I loved hosting A Woman’s World was the conversations.

I absolutely lived for them. Interacting with people of diverse interests yet with one singular goal…to see women live their best lives. Understanding what made them tick…and finding myself in some of them.

This particular episode was quite insightful for me. We have talked about mental health and depression before. However, this was where I was confronted with an individual that lived with the bi-polar condition for the very first time.

I was curious…to say the least. I half expected her to transform into something else on camera…shocking, I know. But you have to understand, before then, whenever I thought of bi-polar…I thought of a multiple personality scenario.

Which is why education is key. Learn. Open your minds to new perspectives and realities.

Hauwa made me understand a lot. She clarified certain concerns I had and rubbished some myths regarding depression. The doctors too were very helpful.

Check my facebook page for the videohttps://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157188804158551&id=523898550

Hauwa Ojiefor, since this interview has gone global with her foundation She Write Woman taking her message beyond the corners of her country.

I am proud to see that she has remained relentless increating the necessary awareness that mental health issues are just like any other illness and should be viewed as such rather than something to be ashamed of.

A place where shame and stigma can be rife is in the workplace though. How is your organisation exacerbating this issue? Once mental health is compromised, it affects physical health and eventually work suffers.

So, how are you correcting that?

If you will like to watch the full unedited video visit YouTube

If you are depressed, or know someone who is depressed, help them get help by referring them to professionals who can handle the situation.

On your own though, its important to practice positive self love, self talk and selfacere. Develop healthy and productive habits and relationships. Do not get lured into prolonged isolation episodes. Most importantly, ask for help

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.